CPSL Awards Night
First season wraps up with 1st awards.
by David Bailey, Staff Writer
Friday, December 18, 1998 02:20:49 PM
  The inaugural season of the CPSL officially came to a close on Saturday night at the OSA's "Coffee Time Soccer Centre" in Woodbridge as the league held its first annual awards night.

The low key but well attended affair was an opportunity for the fledgling but controversy ridden league to pat itself on the back, as much to celebrate its very survival as opposed to its level of success.

Award Winners:

Leading Scorer - Gus Kouzmanis, Toronto Olympians
Referee of the Year - Bill Teeuwen
Rookie of the Year - Tom Bianchi, London City
Goalkeeper of the Year - Dino Perri, St. Catharines Roma Wolves
Coach of the Year - David Gee, Toronto Olympians
Most Valuable Player - Rene Martin, North York Astros
Fairplay Award - London City

An unexpected wrinkle was added to the night by the Canadian National Soccer Foundation, represented by Sonia Dipetta, who awarded representatives of each team, as selected by their clubs, with a certificate of recognition and a cheque for $100.

Players recognized were,

Anthony Dominique, London City
Adrian Moura, North York Astros
Eddy Berdusco, Toronto Olympians
Mark Antonio Marino, St. Catharines Roma Wolves
Adrian Sciarra, York Region Shooters
Nick Anemee, Mississauga
TBA, Toronto Croatia
TBA, Glenn Shields

The 1999 season is full of questions for the CPSL including expansion, financial health, off-field professionalism as well as the latest wrinkle, the Canadian Soccer Association's plan for "CSL 2000". 

What this particular possibility does to the CPSL's future plans is most intriguing as the CSA is obviously aiming for an A-League calibre league.  With the exception of Olympians and Roma Wolves, no other club can even aspire to that level of play at this time.

"Back to CPSL menu">