October 10, 2005 CPSL Award Winners (from CPSL website)

Monday - October 10, 2005

Desmond Humphrey, 25, a standout midfielder with CPSL Championship finalist and winner of the Eastern Conference Vaughan Shooters who came from the senior amateur ranks of the Ontario Soccer League just last season, has received the Most Valuable Player award following the CPSL’s five-month long campaign that ended Thanksgiving Day, Monday, October 11.

Humphrey was one of several recipients to be presented with individual awards at the Canadian Professional Soccer League’s annual awards night Sunday and Monday’s final game of the season that produced a new champion. The CPSL is Canada’s only professional soccer league.

Aaron Byrd, a 24 year-old U.S. import player with Windsor Border Stars and once a standout forward with the University of Detroit soccer squad, won the top goalscoring title with 20 goals and a Border Stars’ defender Filip Rocca, was named Defender of the Year.

Haidar Al-Shaibani, who played so well for London City despite missing games through injury, was voted the league’s top goalkeeper and London City’s Dennis Peeters was voted by the CPSL clubs as the Rookie of the Year.

The top coach award went to Dejan Gluscevic of North York Astros, while The Commissioner’s Award for the most outstanding contribution to the game in 2005 was presented at Sunday’s dinner to Tony De Thomasis, owner of Vaughan Shooters.

Andrzej Jasinski of London, Ontario, received the Referee of the Year Award.

In the team category, Oakville Blue Devils were rewarded following their relocation earlier this year to Oakville with a new name and new-look and the support of the Oakville Soccer Club, to be crowned CPSL champions with a 2-1 golden goal overtime win over Vaughan Shooters at Esther Shiner Stadium on Thanksgiving Day.

A complete listing of all CPSL 2005 awards:

                            The CPSL’s Best - 2005

Most Valuable Player  Desmond Humphrey (Vaughan Shooters)

Top Goalscorer   Aaron Byrd (Border Stars)

Defender of the Year   Filip Rocca (Border Stars)

Goalkeeper of the Year  Haidar Al-Shaibani (London City)

Rookie of the Year   Dennis Peeters (London City)

Coach of the Year   Dejan Gluscevic (North York Astros)

Referee of the Year   Andrzej Jasinski

Commissioner’s Award  Tony De Thomasis (Vaughan Shooters)

CPSL Championship  Oakville Blue Devils    
CPSL Championship Finalist Vaughan Shooters  

Open Canada Cup Winner  Border Stars
Open Canada Cup Finalist   London City

Eastern Conference Winner Vaughan Shooters
Eastern Conference Runners-up Toronto Croatia

Western Conference Winner Hamilton Thunder
Western Conference Runners-up Oakville Blue Devils

Fair Play Award   North York Astros

back to CPSL menu