May 5, 2006 CPSL Windsor Border Stars vs Clyde FC Scotland (from CPSL media release)

Stan Adamson
University of Windsor
Friday, May 5
Clyde F.C. (Scotland) 1, Windsor Border Stars 0.

7 p.m. kickoff.
Game Report 9.45 p.m.

WINDSOR - Friday, May 5 - Clyde F.C. of Scotland defeated Windsor Border Stars of the Canadian Professional Soccer League 1-0 at the University of Windsor Stadium here tonight, the first of two exhibition games scheduled for the visitors during a 10-day visit to Canada.

Windsor held a lively Clyde team most of the game until the 86th minute mark when the visitor's Alex Williams scored from the penalty spot. The penalty was awarded when Stars' defender Vittorio Guidolin held Williams while the Scottish striker was breaking through in an effort to score a late winner. Clyde dominated the game territorially, but had trouble breaking down the Windsor defense for long periods. Windsor goalkeeper Anthony Santilli kept his side in the game with a number of good stops and was the most outstanding player for the home side. Windsor's Aaron Byrd was the most impressive forward for the Canadian team.

Clyde forward Tom Brighton was dangerous throughout, although the team's excellent passing and positional play was also a big feature of the Scottish side's performance.

Joe Miller, Clyde's assistant manager was impressed by the strength of the home side. "Windsor played well, were difficult to break down at times and gave our side a good run in what was an enjoyable game," he said after the final whistle.

Clyde move to Toronto for a game with the CPSL All Stars at Esther Shiner Stadium this coming Sunday, a 3 pm kickoff. The Glasgow-based team completed a 40 plus game schedule in Scotland on April 29, ending the season with a fifth-place finish in the Scottish First Division. The club is one of the oldest in British soccer, having been formed in 1878.

Windsor Border Stars: Anthony Santilli, Filip Rocca, Justin Marshall, Scott Patriquin, Josh Back, Jeff Hodgson, Tino Scicluna, Vittorio Guidolin, JJ Dowhan, Adam Heinemann, Aaron Byrd, Tati Errecalde, Chris King, David Dwaihy, Neil McGill, Radek Papiez, Dominic Scicluna. Coach: Pat Hilton Clyde F.C.: Paul Jarvie, Neil McGregor, Michael McGowan, Craig McKeown, Chris Higgins, Kevin Bradley, Eddie Malone, Kevin McDonald, Paul McHale, Steven Masterton, Stephen O'Donnell, Tom Brighton, Alex Williams, Gary Arbuckle, Douglas Imrie. Manager: Graham Roberts.

back to CPSL menu