Friday, February 11, 2011

Mississauga Eagles FC and an entry from Ottawa are the most recent teams to be entered into membership in the Canadian Soccer League, with an announcement that 14 teams will kickoff the CSL First Division early May. They join another expansion team, Windsor Stars, announced in January and there are 11 teams returning from 2010.

The returning 11 teams include Montreal Impact Academy and TFC Academy to again field development teams in the tough top division. The league has approved two name changes: Brampton Lions are now Brampton City Utd, under new ownership Michael DiMatteo and Leal Jose, while Portugal FC has been re-named SC Toronto.

Mississauga Eagles FC will represent the high profile Erin Mills Soccer Club, which has established itself as an ideal model for grassroots soccer over the years to now have a more complete pyramid structure and greater competitive environment for special players.

Home developer Neil Malhotra, a vice president with Claridge Homes in Ottawa, will seek to launch his team following an announcement in 2009 to bring professional soccer back to the national capital. The team name and home ground location are to be announced.The communities of Kitchener and Pickering sought to enter teams in the CSL this coming season and both groups have now indicated delaying the launch of First Division entries to 2012.

Two teams from 2010 will not be playing this coming season, Hamilton Croatia and Milltown FC, having failed to meet the 2011 season membership deadline.

The 14 teams are: Brampton City Utd, Brantford Galaxy, London City, Mississauga Eagles FC, Montreal Impact Academy, North York Astros, Ottawa, Serbian White Eagles, St. Catharines Wolves, TFC Academy, SC Toronto, Toronto Croatia, Windsor Stars and York Region Shooters.

2011 Canadian Soccer League

back to CSL 2011 menu