June 7, 2011 CSL--The Elite Eight Of Canada (from CanadaSoccer.com)

The Elite Eight Of Canada
Toronto FC Academy players lead the way to U17 World Cup.
June 7, 2011

Eight Toronto FC Academy players - more than any other club - have been named to Canada's 23-man FIFA U17 World Cup squad. The release below is courtesy 
of the Canadian Soccer Association.

Canada has announced its squad in advance of the FIFA U-17 World Cup Mexico 2011. Coach Sean Fleming has selected 23 players that will travel to Pachuca, 
Mexico on Wednesday 8 June to make final preparations before the team's opening match on 19 June.

This will mark Canada's fifth participation in a FIFA U-17 World Cup. Canada's three group opponents are Uruguay on 19 June, England on 22 June and 
Rwanda on 25 June. All three of Canada's group matches will be played in Pachuca. With 24 teams in the competition, either two or three teams from each 
group will advance to the Round of 16 which is scheduled 29-30 June.

"It will be a great challenge," said Canadian U-17 head coach Sean Fleming. "The team has prepared to the best of its ability and now we hope to give 
a good showing for Canada."

As part of Canada's run-up to the opening match, it will face both Ecuador (11 June) and Australia (13 June) in Men's U-17 International Friendly matches.

Canada qualified for the FIFA U-17 World Cup in February before finishing second at the CONCACAF Men's Under-17 Championship. Canada won four-straight 
matches before losing to USA in the championship final. USA, Canada, Panama, Jamaica and host Mexico all qualified for this year's FIFA U-17 World Cup.

The FIFA U-17 World Cup Mexico 2011 runs this 18 June to 10 July in seven cities across Mexico. Final rosters for all 24 competing teams will be posted 
this 13 June on FIFA.com.

1- GK- Maxime Crépeau - Académie Impact Montréal
2- M- Samuel Piette - FC Metz
3- D- Tyler Pasher - Toronto FC Academy
4- D- Ismaïl Benomar - Académie Impact Montréal
5- D- Daniel Stanese - Vancouver Whitecaps Residency
6- D- Parker Seymour - Toronto FC Academy
7- M- Marco Lapenna - Académie Impact Montréal
8- M- Bryce Alderson - Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency
9- F- Sadi Jalali - Edmonton Juventus
10- M- Keven Aleman - Unattached
11- M- Chris Nanco - Sigma FC Academy
12- M- Matteo Pasquotti - Vancouver Whitecaps Residency
13- D- Luca Gasparotto - SC Toronto
14- M- Omari Morris - Toronto FC Academy
15- M- Sergio Camargo - Toronto FC Academy
16- F- Jay Chapman - Toronto FC Academy
17- F- Yassin Essa - Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency
18- GK- Quillan Roberts - Toronto FC Academy
19- M- Alex Halis - SC Toronto
20- M- Michael Petrasso - Toronto FC Academy
21- GK- Chad Bush - Toronto FC Academy
22- D- Adam Polakiewicz - Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency
23- M- Wesley Cain - Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency

back to CSL 2011 menu